MWR-Logo-sm

Employment Readiness Program (ERP)

Where Career Success Begins…

The Employment Readiness Program offers information and referral services and assistance to military Spouses; active duty military; retired military; active Guard and Reserve; DoD civilians; and all immediate Family Members in the areas of employment, training and volunteer opportunities. The services are designed to give you the competitive edge necessary to secure employment and advance your career. Services include hiring events, career counseling and training, employment and education information, volunteer opportunities, internet job search and assistance in resume writing and goal setting.

ERP-CalendarERP offers one on one counseling as well as workshops to help you get started.

• Employment Orientation
• Resume Writing Workshop
• 10 Steps to a Federal Job
• Networking and Interviewing


 

virtual-careerERP offers a Virtual Career Library, a 3D digital career library featuring over 6,000 pages of comprehensive job search education and career guidance resources.

The Virtual Career Library also includes the following:
• Virtual career classroom
• Hiring and Employment news videos
• Digital career books
• College and career school finder
• Career exploration videos
• Virtual job bank, and more.


 

passport-careerAccess the U.S. Army Career Passport System to explore opportunities in the USA and around the world.  You may be relocating to a new city, seeking a job, internship or professional development opportunity.  The Army’s Passport Career Center system provides resources, guidance, strategies and tools to help you make your career move! View Registration key and Instructions

ERP also offers a downloadable App which features the following tools:
• Military Spouse Programs
• Conducting job searches
• Interview tips
• Information on Resume writing styles
App is available for Smart phones using the following platforms: Apple App Store, Blackberry App World and Google play.


 

USAJOBSThe Federal Government’s official one-stop source for federal jobs and employment information.

 

 


 

spouseExecutive Order 13473 and Priority Placement Program – for Military Spouses (PPP-S)

As you apply for federal positions under the "Who May Apply" section you may see there is often an option for spouses to apply under EO 13473.  In addition some positions are open for military spouses who have registered for the PPP-S program.

Spouses are eligible under EO 13473 and PPP-S for two years from the date orders were issued bringing the service member and spouse/family to a new duty location.   Every time you PCS with an active duty service member your 2 year eligibility kicks in again.

You must be within commuting distance of the orders – for example if the active duty service member is on orders to Texas and the service member’s  spouse stays in Hawaii or moves to another location outside of the commuting area of the orders the spouse is not eligible under EO 13473 and PPP-S.

In order to be accepted for PPP-S here in Hawaii you will need to take a comprehensive narrative federal resume, copy of orders and marriage certificate and any other certificates, licenses that relate to your profession to an appointment with an HR specialist at CPAC. You must call CPAC first to set up the appointment (808)438-2560.  PPP-S allows you to be considered for DOD positions.  The HR Specialist will evaluate your resume and credentials to determine the job series and pay grade that you would be qualified. 

If you need to work on your federal resume the Employment Readiness Program (ERP) is available to assist you.  We have regular federal resume workshops “10 Steps to a Federal Job”.  You may register at:http://www.trumba.com/calendars/army_community_service_calendar

Follow this link to information for veterans applying for federal positions:  http://www.fedshirevets.gov/job/shav/index.aspx

When you set up your profile in USA Jobs you are recommend to check all of the preferences/authorities to which you have eligibility – as a military spouse and or a veteran.

 


 

Hiring-eventHiring Events: The Army Community Service (ACS) Employment Readiness Program proudly
hosts/sponsors hiring events on and off the installation. Hiring events such as job fairs, and employer visits, offer golden opportunities for military Spouses to network with employers and potentially land interviews or jobs. (The participating employers are committed and dedicated in hiring military Spouses.)


 

Resources and Information

Military-spouse-employment-partnershipMilitary Spouse Employment Partnership (MSEP): An expanding partnership between military Spouses
seeking employment and corporate businesses committed to providing meaningful and portable careers. Military Spouses are encouraged to visit https://msepjobs.militaryonesource.mil/ to find employment opportunities and post resumes.


 

MYCAA

Military Spouses Career Advancement Account Program (MyCAA): The program is offered to eligible military Spouses as part of the Office of the Secretary of Defense, Spouse Education and Career Opportunities (SECO) program.
• Eligibility restricted to spouses of active duty E1-E5, W1-W2, and O1-O2 serving on Title 10 orders.
seco-logo-sm• Financial assistance limited to $4,000
• Financial assistance must be used three years from the start date of the first class.
• Financial assistance may only be used for an Associate Degree, occupational license or credential.
• Visit https://www.myseco.militaryonesource.mil/


Employment Readiness Online Resources

CAREER RESEARCH AND EDUCATION
Military Spouse Employment Partnership (MSEP):  https://msepjobs.militaryonesource.mil/
Hiring Our Heroes:  http://www.uschamberfoundation.org/hiring-our-heroes
Spouse Education and Career Opportunities (SECO):
https://www.myseco.militaryonesource.mil/Portal
My Career Advancement Account (MyCAA): https://aiportal.acc.af.mil/mycaa/Default.aspx
ONET Interest Profiler – Career Assessment my Next Move: http://www.mynextmove.org/explore/ip
Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Outlook Handbook: http://www.bls.gov/ooh/
College Navigator: http://nces.ed.gov/collegenavigator/
College Board:  https://www.collegeboard.org/
DOE Database of Accredited Academic Institutions:  http://ope.ed.gov/accreditation/Search.aspx
Free Applications for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA): https://fafsa.ed.gov/
Fast Web College Scholarships: www.fastweb.com
DOL Scholarship Search: http://careerinfonet.org/scholarshipsearch/ScholarshipCategory.asp?searchtype=category&nodeid=22
GI Bill:  http://www.benefits.va.gov/gibill/
Schofield Barracks Education Center:  https://www.education.army.mil/hubs/default.aspx?hub_id=34

LICENSING AND CERTIFICATION
State of Hawaii Professional and Vocational Licensing: http://cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/

JOB BOARDS
Hire Net Hawaii:  https://www.hirenethawaii.com/vosnet/Default.aspx
MSEP:  https://msepjobs.militaryonesource.mil/
America’s Job Exchange: www.americasjobexchange.com
Army& Air Force Exchange: http://odin.aafes.com/employment/default.asp
Craigslist: http://honolulu.craigslist.org/search/jjj
Hawaii Jobs www.hawaiijobsondemand.com
American’s Job Bank: www.ajb.dni.us
MilitaryHire.com: www.militaryhire.com
VetJobs.com: www.vetjobs.com
Monster Board: www.monster.com
Career Builder: www.careerbuilder.com
Job-Hunt.org: www.Job-hunt.org
Indeed: www.indeed.com
The Riley Guide: www.rileyguide.com
FlipDog: www.flipdog.com
LatPro: www.latpro.com
Truecareers: www.truecareers.com
Cool Jobs: www.cooljobs.com
Job Monkey: www.jobmonkey.com
Overseas Recruiting: www.morejobs.net
Military Spouse Resources: www.careeronestop.org/militaryspouse
Military Spouse Career Net: http://www.msccn.org/
Overseas Jobs: www.overseasjobs.com
Spouse Job Search: www.military.com/spouse/job-search

HAWAII STATE JOBS
State of Hawaii Job Listings:  http://dhrd.hawaii.gov/job-seekers/
University of Hawaii Jobs:  http://workatuh.hawaii.edu/

FEDERAL JOBS
OPM Official Site for all federal job listings:  https://www.usajobs.gov/
OPM Classifications Standards for General Schedule Jobs:  http://www.opm.gov/policy-data-oversight/classification-qualifications/classifying-general-schedule-positions/#url=Standards
OPM Classifications Standards for Wage Grade Jobs:  http://www.opm.gov/policy-data-oversight/classification-qualifications/classifying-federal-wage-system-positions/#url=Standards
Fed World Department of Commerce Federal Government Information: http://fedworld.ntis.gov/
Veterans’ Employment and Training Service: http://www.dol.gov/vets/
Commissaries:  www.commissaries.com
Federal Bureau of Prisons:  www.bop.gov
Defense Link: www.defenselink.mil
Military to Federal Jobs Crosswalk: http://www.dllr.state.md.us/mil2fedjobs/
DODDS System: www.dodea.edu/

NAF JOBS in Hawaii
Army:  https://armycivilianservice.usajobs.gov/
Joint Base Pearl Harbor Hickam: http://www.greatlifehawaii.com/jobs
Marine Corps Base Kaneohe Bay:  http://mccshawaii.com/careers/

HAWAII STAFFING AGENCIES
Accountemps a RH Company: www.accountemps.com
Adecco Staffing: http://www.adeccousa.com/
Aerotek: www.aerotek.com
Altres / Altres Medical: www.altres.com
Bishop & Co: http://bishopco.net/
Dunhill Professional: http://www.dunhillsolutions.com/
HiEmployment: www.hi-employment.com
Kelly Services: http://www.kellyservices.us/us/ushome/
Kumabe HR Human Resources and staffing: www.KumabeHR.com
Labor Ready: http://www.laborready.com/
Manpower:  http://www.manpower.com/
Nursefinders Staffing: www.nursefinders.com
Island Temporary Nursing: http://itnhawaii.com
Office Team RH: A Robert Half company: www.officeteam.com
Remedy Intelligent Staffing:  https://www.remedystaff.com/RemedyStaff/main.cfm?nlvl1=1
Snelling Personnel Services: https://www.snelling.com/
Staffing Solutions of Hawaii: www.staffingsolutionsofhawaii.com
Westaff Hawaii: http://www.westaffhawaii.com/hi/

MILITARY TRANSITION
Soldier For Life: http://soldierforlife.army.mil/employment
Troops to Teachers:  www.troopstoteachers.net
Veterans Employment Center: https://www.ebenefits.va.gov/ebenefits/jobs
Helmets to Hardhats:  www.helmetstohardhats.com
Military Employment: www.militaryexits.com
Leaders: www.leadersinc.com
Military Candidates Inc:  www.militarycandidates.com
Corporate Gray: www.corporategray.com/

CONTRACTORS
Dellew Corporation: www.dellew.com
Halliburton: www.halliburton.com
KBR: www.kbrjobs.com
Lockheed Martin: www.lockheedmartin.com
Mantech: www.mantech.com
Raytheon: www.raytheon.com
SAIC: www.saic.com
Vinnell: www.vinnellarabia.net
Booz Allen & Hamilton: www.boozallen.com/careers
AT&T: www.att.net
BAE Systems: www.baesystems.com
Computer Service Corp: www.csc.com
Serco:  http://www.serco-na.com/careers
Sikorsky:http://www.sikorsky.com/Pages/Home.aspx
Boeing: http://www.boeing.com/careers/
Bell Helicopter: http://www.bellhelicopter.com/en_US/Careers/Careers.html
North Grumman Corporation: http://www.northropgrumman.com/Careers/Pages/default.aspx
General Dynamics:  http://www.generaldynamics.com/careers/
CACI International:  http://careers.caci.com/
PAE: http://www.ds2.com/career
TEK systems Inc: http://www.teksystems.com/it-careers
Camber Corporation:  http://www.camber.com/careers
Chenega Advanced Solutions & Engineering LLC: http://chenegamios.com/case-llc/careers/
Ventura Technology: http://www.venturatechnology.net/
Island Palm Communities: https://www.islandpalmcommunities.com/Jobs/Jobs
Wackenhut Corporation http://www.g4s.us/en-US/Careers/

HEALTH CARE AND SOCIAL SERVICES
Hawaii Pacific Health: https://www.hawaiipacifichealth.org/careers/
Wahiawa General Hospital: 
Aloha Care:  http://www.alohacare.org
Aloha United Way: http://www.auw.org
Alu Like Inc.: http://www.alulike.org
CareResource Hawaii:http://www.careresourcehawaii.org
Castle Medical Center:
Catholic Charities: http://www.catholiccharitieshawaii.org
Child & Family Service: http://www.childandfamilyservice.org
Columbia-Arora Joint Venture:
Diagnostic Lab Services: http://hawaii.gov/dhs
Hospice Hawaii Inc: http://www.hospicehawaii.org
Care Hawaii: http://www.carehawaii.info/
Clinical Laboratories of Hawaii, LLP: http://www.clinicallabs.com
Waikiki Health Center: http://www.waikikihc.org
Department of Human Services: http://hawaii.gov/dhs
PACT Parents and Children Together: http://www.pacthawaii.org
Goodwill Hawaii Inc.: http://www.higoodwill.org
Easter Seals Hawaii: http://hawaii.easterseals.com
The Salvation Army: http://www1.usw.salvationarmy.org
Waikiki Community Center: http://www.waikikicommunitycenter.org
Lanakila Pacific Rehabilitation Center: http://www.lanakilapacific.org
Valley Health Care Systems: www.vhcsystems.com

EDUCATION
Substitute Teacher in Hawaii Pubic Schools: http://www.hawaiipublicschools.org/ConnectWithUs/Employment/JobOpportunities/Pages/Substitute-teachers.aspx
Teacher Hawaii Public Schools: http://www.hawaiipublicschools.org/ConnectWithUs/Employment/JobOpportunities/Pages/Teacher-Application-FAQs.aspx
University of Hawaii Jobs:  http://workatuh.hawaii.edu/
Hawaii Pacific University: http://www.hpu.edu/UniquelyHPU/HPUemployment/employmentopps.html
Chaminade University of Honolulu: http://www.chaminade.edu/misc/employment.php
Wayland Baptist University: http://www.wbu.edu/colleges-in-hawaii/

 

Disclaimer
The dissemination of information about Spouses/Veterans/Military Service Organizations on this website is for informational purposes only and does not constitute an endorsement by the U.S. Army or this office of the non-Federal entities listed on this website.